Fiery Trials

Over the years I have taken classes to learn new techniques in acrylic painting and tried all different kinds of crafts.  I found that having a hobby gave me something fun to look forward to doing.  It was a needed distraction from having to take care of everybody else.  At first I felt guilty taking the time out but I learned that my attitude changed for the better when I relaxed and got a little balance during the day.

My favorite craft is painting seascapes and so I set out to try painting on pottery.  I had tried making my own pottery but I didn’t like how dried out my hands  so I thought going to one of the places that let you paint on pottery  would be perfect for me.

I chose a large flat plate that would accommodate a seascape, sketched out my design and began to paint.  It didn’t look very attractive.  The colors were dull and it was hard to imagine that it would be something I would give as a gift or even keep for myself.  The owner of the store assured me that once it was fired it would be fine so I kept on painting and left it with her to fire with the other pottery that looked as dull as mine.

A few days later I walked up to the store and I was shocked to see my plate displayed in the window.  The colors were bright and the plate was shining.  It was gorgeous.

Just like the painted plate, the fiery trials in my life have refined me and made me a better person.  They help me to understand and be sympathetic to other people going through problems.  I have also been  closest to God when I was in a fiery trial.

Romans 5:2-5

Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us

About Jans Art Quilts

I am a beginner art quilter and am enjoying spending time in my studio/dining room. I am either catching the latest quilting class at Craftsy.com or working on my latest art quilt. I live in beautiful Orange County, California with my husband, son and 3 crazy dogs.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Stories, Scriptures and Prayers, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

