Mom Doesn’t Know Us Anymore

It was Christmas Eve and my daughter and I went to visit my folks.  Since my daughter had moved to Washington, it had been quite a while since she had seen her grandmother and was saddened by the effects of Alzheimer’s and how much she had deteriorated since her last visit.  It was a difficult visit for her but I became aware that having her with me made it easier for me.

While we were all visiting and enjoying the goodies we brought, a neighbor lady stopped in with two plates of turkey dinner and my mother introduced us to  her as “The church people”.  My heart stung for a moment but it was  comforting to have my daughter and the neighbor with me and was easier to accept.

As an only child, I didn’t have  support from siblings and dealt with my folks by myself so their presence in that difficult moment gave me strength.  Neither my daughter nor the neighbor could be with me each time I dealt with my folks but Jesus could.  I learned to remember he was always with me.  I would say to myself; what would Jesus do in this situation.   He helped me be patient and not worry.  I often turned to this scripture;

Philippians 4:6 Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.

Prayer:  “Father God, when the challenge before me becomes to big to face alone, help me to remember that you are with me.  I have the creator of the heavens and earth with me. Thank you for your presence in my life.  In Jesus’ name I pray, amen.”

About Jans Art Quilts

I am a beginner art quilter and am enjoying spending time in my studio/dining room. I am either catching the latest quilting class at Craftsy.com or working on my latest art quilt. I live in beautiful Orange County, California with my husband, son and 3 crazy dogs.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Stories, Scriptures and Prayers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

