Recognizing Alzheimer’s in my father

When my father called asking if I would help in getting my mother a pair of shoes, I asked him her shoe size.  He didn’t know so I told him to measure her feet.  He came back to the phone and said “They are 12 feet long.”  I said, “You mean 12 inches.”  He argued with me for a while so I let it go and told him I would come over and deal with it.  My father knew measurements.  He could build anything; he was a master craftsman so I knew something wasn’t right.  He was the caregiver for my mother who was in later stages of Alzheimer’s.

I arrived at their home and on the surface everything looked good.  It was very tidy but as I worked my way around the house it became evident that my Dad was seriously confused about even the most simplest things.

He had stated that everything was breaking down in the house.  He had always repaired everything himself so I wondered why he hadn’t done anything.  I started with the garbage disposal that he said was broken.  I walked over and switched it on and it worked fine.  He apparently thought it would dispose automatically when you put stuff in it.  I checked the washer and dryer; they both worked fine.

There was only mustard and ice cream in the refrigerator and a strange odor emanated from somewhere by the back door. (rotten potatoes and onions).  I spent all day cleaning and explaining and writing notes by the switches.  I hired the neighbor to shop and prepare food.

I left to pick up my son at school and had car trouble on the way there; transmission stuck in low.

Overwhelmed with fear of what lay ahead, I opened my bible and turned to Philippians 4:6-7   Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

What a great scripture for me.  I can trust God’s peace to guard my heart and mind through Christ Jesus.

Prayer:  God, help me to trust in you and not to worry how I will accomplish all that needs to be done.  In Jesus’ precious name I pray these things.  Amen

About Jans Art Quilts

I am a beginner art quilter and am enjoying spending time in my studio/dining room. I am either catching the latest quilting class at Craftsy.com or working on my latest art quilt. I live in beautiful Orange County, California with my husband, son and 3 crazy dogs.
This entry was posted in Stories, Scriptures and Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

