Pasta e Fagioli al Forno

Pasta e Fagioli al Forno

Easy recipe and great comfort food.    (My take on Rachel Ray’s recipe)

Ingredients

1 lb box of Penne
1/4 lb
thick bacon (5 slices diced in 1/2 inch squares)
I didn’t use olive oil, I used the bacon fat but just a tablespoon
2 ribs celery with leafy tops, chopped
half a carrot shredded
1/2 onion chopped
2 large garlic cloves, finely chopped
I didn’t use Rosemary, Thyme or bay leaf
ground black pepper
1 (15 oz) can small white beans
didn’t use white wine to de glaze
pan (no de glazing needed)
1 stick butter, unsalted
1/2 cup parmesan
grated
1 15 oz can cream of chicken soup
no nutmeg used
1 cup milk

Bring large pot of water to boil, salt it and cook Penne Pasta
approximate 13 min

While pasta cooks, fry bacon in large fry pan.  After
bacon is fully cooked add celery, carrot, onion garlic and pepper and cook 8
minutes.
Then add white beans and stir.

While vegetables are cooking;
In sauce pan,  melt butter and add milk, soup and parmesan.  Whisk until smooth
and heated. ( I didn’t have any flour to make the white sauce that Rachel Ray
used so this is my substitute sauce.  It tastes good and is much easier than
making the rue etc.)

Add sauce mixture to vegetable/bacon mixture and
stir.  Pour into casserole dish.

Drain Pasta and mix into the
vegetable/sauce.  Careful not to add too many noodles/  I held back about a cup
of noodles so the casserole is moist with sauce.    Rachel heats it all in the
oven but I didn’t bother.

 Whole family loved this dish.  Janis
About Jans Art Quilts

I am a beginner art quilter and am enjoying spending time in my studio/dining room. I am either catching the latest quilting class at Craftsy.com or working on my latest art quilt. I live in beautiful Orange County, California with my husband, son and 3 crazy dogs.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

